alert City of Parramatta will soon no longer support this version of IE. Consider upgrading your browser now. Link


Local Government Elections

Local Government elections in New South Wales are generally held every four years.  

City of Parramatta 2021 Elections

Local residents and ratepayers will have the opportunity on 4 September 2021 to vote for candidates as elected representatives of the City of Parramatta Council.

COVID-19 Update: The Minister for Local Government has postponed the 2020 Local Government Elections for 12 months. The decision was made in response to the current circumstances presented by Coronavirus (COVID-19). The next Local Government Elections will take place on 4 September 2021. 



The City of Parramatta Council has a total of fifteen (15) Councillors, made up of three (3) Councillors per Ward.  

Councillors were elected in September 2017 for a three-year term. As a result of postponing the Elections, the current Council term will be extended until September 2021.

The current Lord Mayor, Councillor Bob Dwyer will continue to hold office until September 2021. The Deputy Lord Mayor may be elected for the same term as the Lord Mayor or a shorter term, as determined by the Council.

The postponement of the 2020 Elections will not change the future schedule of Council Elections and the subsequent election will still proceed in September 2024.

The City of Parramatta Council is divided into five wards, being:


Dundas Ward
Comprising whole and parts of the suburbs of Dundas, Ermington, Oatlands and Telopea.

Epping Ward
Comprising whole and parts of the suburbs of Beecroft, Eastwood, Epping and Dundas Valley.

North Rocks Ward
Comprising whole and parts of the suburbs of Carlingford, North Parramatta, North Rocks and Winston Hills.

Parramatta Ward
Comprising whole and parts of the suburbs of Constitution Hill, Old Toongabbie, Parramatta, Pendle Hill, Seven Hills, Toongabbie, Northmead, Wentworthville and Westmead.

Rosehill Ward
Comprising whole and parts of the suburbs of Camellia, Clyde, Harris Park, Granville, Lidcombe, Mays Hill, Melrose Park, Merrylands, Newington, Rosehill, Rydalmere, Silverwater, Sydney Olympic Park and Wentworth Point.

Find out more about your Ward.


Information for Electors

Residential Roll

The NSW Electoral Commissioner, in consultation with Council, will administer the Local Government Elections for 2021.  If you are a resident in the City of Parramatta Council area, you are eligible to vote. You can check if your enrolment details are up to date by visiting the NSW Electoral Commission website. For all enquiries, please call 1300 135 736.


Non-Residential Roll

If you are not a resident, you may be entitled to vote if you own, occupy or lease property in the City of Parramatta Council area as a corporation, business or individual. You may register in your own right as an individual or as a nominated company officer (or equivalent) of a corporation. Registration is not compulsory.


Application Form for Individual

Application Form for Company/Joint Owners appointing a Person on their behalf

Completed application forms should be sent to City of Parramatta Council to, by post to PO Box 32 Parramatta NSW 2124.

For further information on the non-residential roll, please contact Council at

Need More Information?

More information on the 2021 Local Government Elections can be found by visiting the NSW Electoral Commission webpage.